2018-08-14 Hot Topic

On the first day August 1, 2018 of the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) held at Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, the Fields Medals were awarded to the following four mathematicians.

Caucher Birkar:
For the proof of the boundedness of Fano varieties and for contributions to the minimal model program.

Alessio Figalli:
For contributions to the theory of optimal transport and its applications in partial differential equations, metric geometry and probability.

Peter Scholze:
For transforming arithmetic algebraic geometry over p-adic fields through his introduction of perfectoid spaces, with application to Galois representations, and for the development of new cohomology theories.

Akshay Venkatesh:
For his synthesis of analytic number theory, homogeneous dynamics, topology, and representation theory, which has resolved long-standing problems in areas such as the equidistribution of arithmetic objects.

At the same time, the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize was awarded to
Constantinos Daskalakis:
For transforming our understanding of the computational complexity of fundamental problems in markets, auctions, equilibria, and other economic structures. His work provides both efficient algorithms and limits on what can be performed efficiently in these domains.

You might know that the Fields Medal of Caucher Birkar was stolen just after the celemony and he was given the medal again on August 4.

On August 4, the Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize was awarded to
David L. Donoho:
For his fundamental contributions to the mathematical, statistical and computational analysis of important problems in signal processing.

On August 4, the Chern Medal Award was given to
Masaki Kashiwara (the photo above) :
For his outstanding and foundational contributions to algebraic analysis and representation theory sustained over a period of almost 50 years.

On August 9, Leelavati Prize 2018 was awarded to
Ali Nesin:
For his outstanding contributions towards increasing public awareness of mathematics in Turkey, in particular for his tireless work in creating the "Mathematical Village" as an exceptional, peaceful place for education, research and the exploration of mathematics for anyone.

The 2018 ICM Emmy Noether Lecturer is Sung-Yung Alice Chang
for her leading contributions to harmonic analysis, geometric analysis, differential geometry and partial differential equations. The lecture was given on August 3 and the award was given after the lecture.

Related Links